

Major Non-NATO ally

By IASToppers | 2022-09-26 17:35:00



Major Non-NATO ally

Recently, US terminated designation of Afghanistan as major non-NATO ally.



[Ref: Aljazeera]

- Major non-NATO ally (MNNA) is a **designation given by the United States to close allies** that have strategic working relationships with the US Armed Forces but are **not members** of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).
 - The MNNA status was first created in 1987.
- The designation does not automatically include a mutual defense pact with US, but confers a
 variety of military and financial advantages that otherwise are not obtainable by non-NATO
 countries.
 - A major non-NATO ally is eligible for loans of material, supplies, or equipment for cooperative research, development, testing, or evaluation purposes.
 - They are also eligible as a location for US-owned War Reserve Stockpiles to be placed on its territory outside of US military facilities.
- There are currently **18 major non-NATO allies**, excluding Afghanistan, across 4 continents (10 in Asia, 3 in Africa, 3 in South America, and 2 in Oceania).
 - They are Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Brazil, Colombia, Egypt, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Philippines, Qatar, South Korea, Thailand and Tunisia.
 - Taiwan is treated as an MNNA, without formal designation as such.