

## Pakistan Occupied Kashmir (PoK)

By IAStoppers | 2024-06-04 15:20:00



## Pakistan Occupied Kashmir (PoK)

Pakistan admitted in court that Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) is a "foreign territory".



[Ref: India Today]

## About Pakistan Occupied Kashmir (PoK):

- PoK was **illegally occupied** by Pakistan in **1947** following an invasion by Pashtun tribesmen and the Pakistani Army.
- Historically part of the princely state of Jammu and Kashmir, which acceded to India in 1947 after Partition.
- Geographical Extent: Covers an area of 13,297 sq km with a population of over 40 lakh. It includes 10 districts, with the capital being Muzaffarabad.
- Comprises two ethnically and linguistically different regions: **Mirpur-Muzaffarabad region** and **Gilgit-Baltistan region**.
- In 1963, Pakistan ceded over **5,000 sq km** of this land to China in the **Shaksgam area**.
- Administrative Status: Neither PoK nor GB are listed as part of Pakistan's four provinces. Both are considered "autonomous territories" ruled directly from Islamabad.
- For India, PoK and GB are part of the state of Jammu and Kashmir, which is an integral part of the country as per the 1994 Parliamentary resolution.

## India-Pakistan Territorial Demarcation:

- International Border (IB): Stretches approximately 2,400 km from Gujarat to the north banks of Chenab in Akhnoor in Jammu.
- Line of Control (LoC): A ceasefire line that came into existence after the 1948 and 1971 wars between India and Pakistan, delineated in the Simla Agreement (1972).
- Actual Ground Position Line (AGPL): Divides the current positions of Indian and Pakistani troops in the Siachen region and extends from NJ 9842 to Indira Col in the north.
- Further demarcation challenges include the IB in Sir Creek area and International Maritime Boundary line between India and Pakistan, which have not been demarcated.