

The Gallantry awards

By IASToppers | 2024-01-29 15:15:00



Gallantry awards

President Droupadi Murmu has approved gallantry awards to 80 military personnel, recognizing their exceptional valor and service on the occasion of the 75th Republic Day.

• The awards include six Kirti Chakras, 16 Shaurya Chakras, 53 Sena Medals, one Nao Sena Medal, and four Vayu Sena Medals.



[ref- thebrighterworld]

About Gallantry awards:

- The Government of India has instituted Gallantry Awards to honor **acts of bravery** and **sacrifice by individuals** in the Armed Forces, lawfully constituted forces, and civilians.
- These awards are announced twice a year—on Republic Day and Independence Day.

Categories of Gallantry Awards: Gallantry Awards are classified into two categories:





[ref-IndiaToday]

- Gallantry in the Face of Enemy:
 - 1. Param Vir Chakra (PVC)
 - 2. Mahavir Chakra (MVC)
 - 3. Vir Chakra
- Gallantry Other than in the Face of Enemy:
 - 1. Ashok Chakra
 - 2. Kirti Chakra
 - 3. Shaurya Chakra

Institutional History:

- The first three awards (PVC, MVC, Vir Chakra) were instituted on January 26, 1950, with retroactive effect from August 15, 1947.
- Subsequently, **Ashoka Chakra Class-I, II, III** were instituted on January 4, 1952, renamed **Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra, and Shaurya Chakra** in January 1967.

Order of Precedence:

- 1. Param Vir Chakra
- 2. Ashoka Chakra
- 3. Mahavir Chakra
- 4. Kirti Chakra



- 5. Vir Chakra
- 6. Shaurya Chakra

Description of Awards:

1. Param Vir Chakra (PVC):

- Circular bronze medal with replicas of "Indra's Vajra" and State Emblem.
- Ribbon: Plain purple.
- Recognizes most conspicuous bravery or pre-eminent act of valour or self-sacrifice in the presence of the enemy.

2. Mahavir Chakra (MVC):

- Circular silver medal with a five-pointed heraldic star.
- Ribbon: Half-white and half-orange.
- Awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy.

3. Vir Chakra:

- Circular silver medal with a five-pointed heraldic star and Chakra.
- Ribbon: Half blue and half orange.
- Awarded for acts of gallantry in the presence of the enemy.

4. Ashok Chakra:

- Circular gold gild medal with a replica of Ashoka's Chakra.
- Ribbon: Green with an orange vertical line.
- Recognizes conspicuous bravery or pre-eminent act of valour or self-sacrifice other than in the face of the enemy.

5. Kirti Chakra:

- Circular silver medal with a replica of Ashoka's Chakra.
- Ribbon: Green divided by two orange vertical lines.
- Awarded for conspicuous gallantry other than in the face of the enemy.

6. Shaurya Chakra:

- Circular bronze medal with a replica of Ashoka's Chakra.
- Ribbon: Green divided by three vertical lines.
- Awarded for gallantry other than in the face of the enemy.

Investiture Ceremony:

- Gallantry awards are conferred annually at the Defence Investiture Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan.
- The Param Vir Chakra and Ashoka Chakra are conferred during the Republic Day Parade at Rajpath.

Eligibility:

- Param Vir Chakra, Mahavir Chakra, Vir Chakra:
 - Eligible categories include officers, personnel of Armed Forces, nursing services, and civilians serving under Armed Forces.
 - Criteria include conspicuous bravery, gallantry, and acts of self-sacrifice in the face of the enemy.
- Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Shaurya Chakra:



- Eligible categories include officers, personnel of Armed Forces, nursing services, and civilians, including police forces.
- Criteria include conspicuous bravery, gallantry, and acts of self-sacrifice other than in the face of the enemy.
- Awards may be conferred posthumously.
- Recommendations should not involve adverse reports or disciplinary actions.

Selection Process:

- Recommendations are invited twice a year from the Armed Forces and the Ministry of Home Affairs.
- The Armed Forces initiate cases, which are forwarded through the **chain of command**.
- Civilian recommendations are invited from State/UT Governments and various organizations.
- Recommendations are scrutinized by committees and submitted to the Central Honours & Awards Committee.
- The Prime Minister and the President approve the awards.