Flash Cards

Day#31 Current Affairs Flash Cards [PRELIMS 2020]

Locust Warning organization (LWO); ‘Amrabad Tiger Reserve’; Uranium exploration; Locusts; Directorate of Plant Protection Quarantine & Storage (PPQS); Basel Committee; ‘Basel Accords’; Teesta River; Kyrgyzstan;
By IASToppers
August 29, 2019



Kyrgyzstan shares its border with China in the east Afghanistan in south. True or False?

Click to View the Answer
Click to View the Question


Right Statement:

  • Kyrgyzstan shares its border with China but not with Afghanistan.

Enrich Your Learning:


  • Kyrgyzstan is a landlocked country with mountainous terrain.
  • The capital of Kyrgyzstan is Bishkek, which was founded 1825.

Kyrgyzstan shares land borders with 4 countries:

  • Kazakhstan to the north
  • China to the east
  • Tajikistan to the southwest
  • Uzbekistan to the west and southwest.




Through how many Indian states does river Teesta flow?

Click to View the Answer
Click to View the Question


  • The river Teesta flows through two Indian States, Sikkim and West Bengal.

Enrich Your Learning:

Teesta River

  • The Teesta River originates in the Himalayas and flows through the Indian States of Sikkim and West Bengal in India.
  • The river originates at Tso Lamo, Sikkim, flows through West Bengal and then enters the Rangpur division in Bangladesh.
  • It is the fourth largest among 54 rivers shared by India and Bangladesh.
  • In India, it flows through the cities of Rangpo, Kalimpong, Jalpaiguri and Mekhliganj.
  • The flow of the Tista is greatest during the summer (June to September), when the monsoon rains are the heaviest and glaciers supply abundant meltwater.
  • The Teesta is joined by the river Rangpo Chu at Rangpo settlement (which is the entrance to East-Sikkim) and then it forms a boundary between Sikkim and West Bengal.
  • The main tributary of river Teesta, the Rangit river meets it just before the Teesta bridge.
  • The Teesta bridge is located at a point where the roads from Darjeeling, Kalimpong and Sikkim meet.
  • The river has two concrete bridges – the Teesta bridge and the Coronation bridge.
  • The River derived its name from the word ‘Trisrota’, meaning ‘possessed of three streams’.



The Basel Committee was formed by whom and why?

Click to View the Answer
Click to View the Question


  • The Basel Committee was established by the central bank Governors of the Group of Ten countries at the end of 1974 in the aftermath of serious disturbances in international currency and banking markets.

Enrich Your Learning:

‘Basel Accords’

  • The Bank for International Settlements (BIS) introduced the new capital accord in 2001.
  • It is also known as the Basel Capital Accord, and New Basel Capital Accord is applied on a consolidated basis to internationally active banks to address the risk management practices for active financial institutions in the international arena.
  • Although the BIS introduced the Basel Accord to be implemented globally, different global regions are allowed to customize the BIS regulations to comply with their own regulator(s) individual requirements, if these customizations are within the BIS Accord scope.

The accord aims to

  • Improve the banking sector’s ability to absorb shocks that arise from financial and economic stress, whatever the source,
  • Improve risk management and governance.
  • Strengthen banks’ transparency and disclosures.

Basel I summary

  • The Basel Committee was formed in response to the liquidation of a Europe-based bank in 1974.
  • As a result, the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS), under the direction and supervision of the Bank of International Settlements, which is in Basel.
  • Basel 1 Accord in 1988 was instigated by the committee.

Basel II Summary

  • The Basel II Accord makes it mandatory for financial institutions to use standardized measurements for credit, market risk, and operational risk.

Basel III summary

  • Basel III is an extension of the existing Basel II Framework, and introduces new capital and liquidity standards to strengthen the regulation, supervision, and risk management of the whole of the banking and finance sector.



Locust Warning organization (LWO) is responsible to monitor and control the locust situation. It covers which Indian states?

Click to View the Answer
Click to View the Question


  • Locust Warning organization (LWO) is responsible to monitor and control the locust situation in Scheduled Desert Area (SDA) mainly in the States of Rajasthan and Gujarat while partly in the States of Punjab and Haryana.


Enrich Your Learning:

What are locusts?

  • Locusts are the short-horned grasshoppers with highly migratory habit, marked polymorphism and voracious feeding behavior.
  • They cause great devastation to natural and cultivated vegetation leading to national emergency of food and fodder.


About Locust Warning organization (LWO):

  • Locust Warning Organisation (LWO), established in 1939 and amalgamated in 1946 with the Directorate of Plant Protection Quarantine and Storage (PPQS) of the Ministry of Agriculture.
  • The main objective of LWO is protection of standing crops and other green vegetation from the ravages of Desert locust which is one of the most dangerous pests occurring in desert areas throughout the world.

About PPQs:

  • Directorate of Plant Protection Quarantine & Storage (PPQS) was established in the year 1946 on the recommendation of Woodhead Commission as an apex organization for advising the Government of India and state governments on all the matter related to Plant Protection.
  • It is an attached Office of Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare.




‘Amrabad Tiger Reserve’ is located in which state?

Click to View the Answer
Click to View the Question


  • ‘Amrabad Tiger Reserve’ is located in

Enrich Your Learning:

‘Amrabad Tiger Reserve’

  • Amrabad Tiger Reserve is India’s second-largest tiger reserve, next to the original Nagarjunasagar Srisailam Tiger Reserve.
  • It was earlier part of Nagarjunasagar – Srisailam Tiger Reserve (NSTR) but, post-bifurcation, the northern part of the reserve is vested with Telangana and renamed as Amrabad Tiger Reserve.
  • Together both reserves form India’s largest protected dry forest.
  • Amrabad Tiger Reserve lies in the Nallamala hill and is spread over Mahbubnagar and Nalgonda districts of Telangana.
  • The tiger conservation foundation for Amrabad Tiger Reserve was constituted by state government on the request of National Tiger Conservation Authority.
  • It will ensure direct transfer of Central funds to Project Tiger for conservation of tigers.

About Chenchus

  • Amrabad is dominated by the Chenchus, a scheduled tribe and are the most under-privileged group in Telangana.
  • Chenchus are considered the first habitants of mainland India.
  • The Chenchus are a Telugu speaking food-gathering tribe living in the Nallamalai forests of Andhra Pradesh and Telengana in India.
  • Their geographical location spreads over the districts of Mahaboobnagar, Kurnool, Prakasam and Guntur.

Uranium exploration in the reserve

  • The Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), had submitted a proposal to carry out survey and drilling of boreholes in four blocks of the reserve.
  • Three of the four blocks are located inside its core tiger protection area known as Rajiv Gandhi Wildlife Sanctuary.
  • The area lies along a patch where the Nallavagu and Dindi rivers merge, forming a major tributary and catchment of the Krishna river.

Why is it in news?

  • The Centre granted “in-principle” clearance for uranium exploration in Amrabad Tiger Reserve in Telangana, despite objections by forest officers.

Key Facts:

  • The International Tiger Day is celebrated on July 29.
Daily Current Flash Cards 2020 Prelims 2020

IT on Facebook

Facebook Pagelike Widget


Calendar Archive

September 2020
« Aug